HomeBlogBest Matrimonial Website in IndiaWhat are the 7 Oaths of Marriage?

What are the 7 Oaths of Marriage?

Marriage is often considered as one of the most important decisions in an individual’s life. It is the beginning of a new phase, and with it comes the vows that the couple takes for a lifetime. These vows are essentially meant to form the basis of the relationship, and call for utmost commitment and dedication. The seven oaths of marriage, a traditionally Hindu practice, set a path for couples to follow in their married lives. In this article, we will delve deep into the significance of the 7 oaths of marriage.

The Significance of Marriage

Before we jump right in, it’s important to understand the significance of marriage. Marriage is seen as a lifelong commitment, where two individuals come together to support and love each other through thick and thin. It is a sacred bond, not just between two individuals but between two families. The 7 oaths of marriage are taken during the wedding ceremony as a promise to uphold the sanctity of this bond.

The Seven Oaths of Marriage

  1. The first oath
  • The first oath is taken to provide for the family and its well-being. The groom vows to provide for the family financially, emotionally, and morally.
  1. The second oath
  • The second oath is taken to protect the family and all its members from harm. The groom promises to protect the family against all obstacles and to be there for them in times of need.
  1. The third oath
  • The third oath is taken to cherish the wife. The groom vows to respect, love and cherish his wife for the rest of his life.
  1. The fourth oath
  • The fourth oath is taken to be faithful to the partner. The groom promises to be loyal and faithful to his spouse.
  1. The fifth oath
  • The fifth oath is taken to provide happiness to the partner. The groom vows to shower love, and to make efforts to keep his partner happy.
  1. The sixth oath
  • The sixth oath is taken to consider the partner’s wishes before his own. The groom pledges to take into account his partner’s feelings, emotions, and opinions before making decisions.
  1. The seventh oath
  • The seventh oath is taken to stand by the partner during difficult times. The groom vows to support his wife when life throws its inevitable challenges.

Importance of the 7 Oaths of Marriage

The 7 oaths of marriage form the foundation of a healthy and successful marriage. It emphasizes the values of commitment, trust, loyalty, respect and love. These values are not only essential for a successful marriage but also for establishing a strong bond between the couple.


Marriage is not just a commitment between two individuals; it’s a responsibility towards the family and society. The 7 oaths of marriage provide a moral compass for couples to navigate through their wedded life. The oaths signify the essence of relationships, the cornerstone of which is based on trust, mutual respect, and a collective commitment to love one another.


  1. What is the significance of marriage?
  2. What is the Hindu perspective on marriage?
  3. How do the seven oaths help in strengthening the marriage bond?
  4. Can the oaths of marriage be modified according to personal situations?
  5. What are some common challenges faced by couples in sustaining a healthy marriage?
  6. How can one adhere to the oaths of marriage when faced with difficult situations?
  7. How does the concept of an ‘arranged marriage’ fit with the seven oaths of marriage?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome to Seven Promise. Seven Promise is Brand of Kailash Enterprises. Kailash Enterprises is one of Trusted Company of india Registered on 8 January 2003.

Quick Links

Follow Us

Sign up For Newsletter

© 2024 All Rights Reserved.

This is a staging enviroment
WhatsApp Chat